Chris Walker

It’s pretty difficult to find anything different to say with regards to the range of emotions and physical challenges we have all faced during the past 6 days that hasn’t already been covered by the other guys, that leaves me only to wholeheartedly agree with those sentiments and confirm that it’s been a real challenge but that’s kind of the point, right ?!? if it was easy then everyone would do it and the enormous sense of achievement which is beginning to build as we sit in The Priory awaiting a final lunch on the road wouldn’t be anywhere close to what we’re sure to experience in the coming hours.

A few mentions to the guys who I have shared this special experience with, firstly my fellow riders who it’s fair to say differ in a variety of ways, ability, experience etc. but what we all have in common is a collective determination to go and achieve something special, a special quality which should not be underestimated. It would be fair to say I’ve strengthened existing friendships along this journey which was necessary to complete the task in hand. Secondly the guys in the van who offered essential support throughout the week to all the riders and without their help the challenge quite simply couldn’t of taken place, make no mistake when you refer to the ‘team’ who completed this journey you will be referring to more than the blokes on the bikes. Lastly a mention for our organiser Mr Watts whom gave us the opportunity to do this epic challenge, I think I speak for everyone when I say I wish there was 5 cyclists crossing the finish line.

On a personal note I’m extremely proud of myself and more than a little surprised with my own performance over the last 6 days.

Thanks for anyone who has supported us, trust me when I say we’ve earned every penny of it….

20130330-145254.jpg

Leave a comment